ordinary and oddinary

I write therefore I exist.

Feng shui Bagua – home arrangement (1)

Feng shui literally means ‘wind: 風’ and water ‘水’ in Chinese, which are considered to be two most paramount elements of nature.  It deals with how to balance and create the harmonious flow of the energies in the space you inhabit and all the things that surround yourself to ensure the health and good fortune come to you, just like the flow of water and wind. On a practical level, it gives you a good guideline how to arrange your daily elements in your house and helps you declutter things which block the flow of the energies.

I notice that on recent years Feng Shui has become very fashionable in the West, which reminds me of this neurotic Spanish woman I saw on  TVE1’s ‘Comando Actualidad’ the other day. She was interviewing a Filipino couple for the live-in domestic help position and showed them around the house explaining what has to be done on a daily basis. Then she told the couple in a very firm and condescending manner that this furniture must not be moved even 1 millimeter while cleaning because the whole layout was very strictly Feng Shui-ed! I OMG. I had to laugh.

source: google image

In order to apply Feng Shui in an easy and funcional way to your home, in fact this is the main reason of this post, I recommend the Feng Shui (風水) Bagua (八卦) , which means ‘wind’ ‘water’ ‘eight’ ‘areas’ altogether. The Feng Shui Bagua is a map of how energy moves within any given space. Natural flow like wind and water in eight areas of life which serve the centre ‘Health/Well-being’
Your home is sectioned as below and each square represents an aspect of life .

source: google image

The important thing is that your front door should be aligned with the bottom three, either knowledge, Career or Helpful People. You will understand better if you look at the diagram below.

source: google image

 There is a wealth of information on the net if you want to know more about each individual segment of the Bagua. I will link two web pages. This and This. 🙂

Basically, if you have a particularly cluttered area in your house as per the Bagua map above, it requires your urgent attention.  You see? The Feng Shui Bagua is naturally destined to decluttering. 

So how did I apply it to my home?
More importantly, is it working? 

1. Fame & Health (Well-being)

When I analysed my floor plan to the Feng Shui Bagua map, what I began to do was to clear out Health (Well-being) area. This is foremost as it affects every aspect of your life. 

I had a L-shaped kitchen unit with a small breakfast table attached on top and a yellow cabinet housing all sort of expensive crystals and plates facing the side of the unit at the borderline between Health and Career.

It created a little alleyway from the study to the kitchen. But it was a bit obstructive for big, tall and wonky-walking Mark. First thing first. I cleared out ancient stuff inside the unit. It’s like a hidden world. The inner space was difficult to reach and the stuff inside was totally forgotten and deserted. I cleared out most of the clutter and moved keepers close to the door so that I could reach any time when I needed. I also moved the yellow cabinet further into ‘Health’ and filled it with more day-to-day items.

Now we have a spacious passage which flows better to the kitchen and to the living/dining area. My kitchen is spotless and I only have what I need in this area. You can refer to my previous post regarding Kitchen here.

My kitchen is in ‘Fame’ and most of ‘Health’. So I should be famous by now, shouldn’t I? Haha, nah. ‘Fame’ represents not just popularity, but also aspiration, self-esteem and self-perception. I think I’m becoming a lot clearer about what I’m good at and what I’m enjoying the most. When it come to ‘Health’, we eat better and healthier. My fridge is less crowded. I have used up a big chunk of food stock. So far so good. I hope this keeps on working and Mark is given the all clear this May.

2. Career

Our front entrance is somewhere between ‘Career’ and ‘Helpful People (travel)’. Apparently this is good. The energy come through from the door to ‘Career’.

The major part of ‘Career’ is our study area. Well it’s mostly used by Mark. There is a long desk where half of it is taken up by a computer and the other half by Mark’s hobby things. A small metal cabinet is on the left side which stores important paperwork and documents, and another cabinet on the right side, which recently relocated from the bathroom, is being used as a display unit for Mark’s small models and figures. Before it was moved, there used to be CD racks installed into the wall and I hated them. I took them off and moved the CDs to the living room, just right next to the stereo. It felt fantastic.

However, I still have my doubts about ‘Career’. Perhaps because I haven’t been feeling fantastic about how my career progresses at the moment. I guess Mark’s career seems to benefit more from the ‘Career’ energy. Maybe the fact that this area contains barely nothing of mine demonstrates detachment and nonchalance towards my job?  Whatever it is, I will need to work on this area a bit more. There is a small alcove on the left side of the desk which is hidden by a curtain. I know the shelf units inside require good clearing out –  so I will start from there.

(To be continued)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

