ordinary and oddinary

I write therefore I exist.

Does ‘coincidence’ exist?

This morning on the way to work, I was carrying two bags on my right lower arm.  I was walking fast and suddenly felt some heavy-ish ‘thud’ on my arm and stopped walking. And I look at it and saw something not very pretty sitting on it. – It was a pile of seagull poop! It landed on my tan leather jacket sleeve. Some people might say it means good luck but hey, I’m the one got POOPED on!

As I was a lift (=elevator) ride away, I ran and quickly got into one. I didn’t have any clean tissue on me, so my best shot was to go to the work and sort it out in the bathroom.

After this morning disaster is handled, I sat down at my desk and thought about something deeper than the bird poo.

Does ‘coincidence’ really exist or our whole life is one big conspiracy theory that everything is all mapped out already?

I tracked back to the scene where I got pooped on. It landed on the sleeve, not on the straps of my bags. One of them was fabric and the other one leather, and it would have been more annoying if had fallen on them. What if it had splashed on my head? That would’ve been a real shitty experience, yet my head was only as close as 15cm away from the crime scene. I was going to wear a recently bought Adolfo Dominguez coat as it felt cold but I changed my mind to put this reasonably old Zara tan leather jacket, because its colour matched better with my trousers.

What could I have done not to be at that wrong time in that wrong place? Let’s go back to when I left home. This morning I had to take a bag of rubbish to the communal collection area.  Then I had a little quarrel with Mark in the car regarding some house chore. Therefore I started my car 3 minutes later than usual. How about this? When I parked my car close to work and started walking towards the work building, I decided to cross the road using the zebra crossing. I don’t normally use this because there’s not much traffic around this time. In addition, it was demarcated about a week ago, it was a new thing for me to get accustomed to as well.  There are three sets of grand staircases I can use to go up to the work building, and today I decided to use the middle one, which is closest to the zebra crossing. I normally use the right side one.

So after I crossed the zebra and carried on walking to reach the beginning of the middle staircase, BOOM! There you go. I got pooped on.

Everything what I did in the morning somehow contributed and led to this event, didn’t it? It felt like a chemical explosion from every little ingredient I put in. Yes I could have avoided the whole poop thing, but I didn’t, did I? The important thing is that it happened. Out of this bad luck, I’m actually glad that I wasn’t wearing my AD coat and it didn’t fall on my LV bag’s leather straps. 

So back to my question.
Was it all a coincidence? Or was it fated? 

I don’t know. All I know at the moment is that I could use a warm cup of tea and I hate Mondays! 😦

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Does ‘coincidence’ exist?

  1. Mark on said:

    I believe in coincidence as the alternative, the huge conspiracy, seems like too much work 🙂

  2. Fickle Finger of Fate! It spared your gorgeous bag i’m sure! Ps, I hate Mondays too!

Leave a Reply

