ordinary and oddinary

I write therefore I exist.

A fast cook’s recipes

I enjoy cooking, only when I’ve got time.

It means to cook something during weekdays is a process which I want to streamline at my utmost capacity. I normally arrive home at about 7:30pm. After I change clothes and get comfortable, it’s already 8:00pm. I don’t want to eat too late, hence my target eating time is 8:30pm or even earlier. This simple calculation shows my cooking time is always less than half an hour.

To satisfy my need, I’ve searched the internet and put ‘seemingly attractive’ recipes to the test. I’ve adapted them to my taste and sometimes I’ve improvised with the ingredients left in the fridge. When it’s successful I tend to write down for the future use. To tell the truth, I’ve started writing down my off-the-cuff recipes quite recently. I’m hoping to build up to 50+ by the end of this year.

I can guarantee you the recipes I’m posting here are super fast, fool proof and hassle free. Since I need to feed a big man,  it is well-balanced and nutritious. Each recipe yields a minimum of 3 servings because I make a lunch box for Mark from this. Don’t worry I’ve got a quite good taste for food and I’d rather be starving than eating for the sake of meeting hunger.

Anyway here we go, a fast cook’s recipes. Oh don’t pay attention to the name of the dish. I just use whatever comes to my mind! 🙂

1) Egg revuelto
Ingredients: 1 aubergine, 1 parsnip, 1 tomato, 1 tomate frito (Spanish fried tomato sauce: see here.), 3 eggs, salt, extra virgin olive oil, parsley, olives, Worcester sauce (optional).

Cut the vegetables in cubes and sprinkle salt over. Gently fry them in a skillet/frying pan with a bit of olive oil. When they are browned/cooked put a pack of tomate frito and olives. When it boils, reduce the heat and season it with salt and Worcester sauce to your liking.  Break eggs and place individually on top. Now put the lid on and leave it for a few minutes to simmer on a lower/remainig heat until all eggs are cooked white. Remove the lid and pour extra virgin olive oil generously and garnish with parsley. Serve it on a plate and eat. Yum!

2) Chorizo tomato stew
Ingredients: 5-6 thick slices of chorizo, 2 tomatoes, 1 hard-boiled egg, 1 small onion, a handful of mixed grains (I get them from Morrisons.), 1 chicken stock, pitted olives, 2 cloves garlic, 500ml water.

First fry chorizo in a skillet/a medium size pot (no oil required). When chorizo gives out oil, put chopped tomatoes, onion, garlics, olives and mixed grains and fry them until they are well coated. Pour water and let it boil. When it boils add one chopped egg, then reduce the heat and leave it till the grains are fully cooked. Season it to your liking before serving.

3) Beef daikon clear soup
Ingredients: 400g Beef cut for stew, 1 daikon (oriental radish, I get them from Morrisons, it’s called ‘rettish’ here. Yes there’s only one proper supermarket in Gibraltar!), 1Ts soy sauce, 3-4 spring onions, chilli powder (optional), salt, pepper, mixed grains/rice, water.

Soak beef in water for 10 minutes to remove excess blood. Put the beef rump and sliced daikon in a large size pot and pour 1L cold water and boil on a high heat. Make sure you skim off the froth while it’s boiling. When the beef is fully cooked (+/-15mins), turn off the heat and bring out the beef in a clean bowl. Wait till it cool down a bit and pull it into bite sized pieces. Season the beef with salt and pepper and chilli powder if you want. Leave it for a few minutes and place it again in the pot. Now add mixed grains/rice and re-boil it altogether for about 10 more minutes until grains are well cooked. Sprinkle chopped spring onions and season it well with soy sauce (and salt if necessary).

I hope this helps. God I’m now hungry! 🙂

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “A fast cook’s recipes

  1. Pingback: Chronicle of a lazy cook « ordinary and oddinary

Leave a Reply

