ordinary and oddinary

I write therefore I exist.

Declutter! (1) : Simple life

I like simple living.
I like tidiness, cleaness and orderliness.
Don’t worry I don’t have obsessive compulsive disorder. 🙂

Since I left home a million years ago, I’ve done a fair share of moving about due to studies, jobs, and etc. I hated the idea of carrying loads of stuff with me whenever I had to move. Come to think of it, even when I was a child, I wasn’t particularly emotionally attached to personal possessions either. I loved the function it provided but once I had grown out of it or I stopped using it, I’ve had no problem of getting rid of it.

For example, I used to play the piano. My dad bought me a nice black piano when I was 5 years old and since then it was a big part of my life. Then I went to middle school and high school, I began to play less and less and realised I’d done my playing piano bit in my life. Time to move on. Therefore, when my family moved to a new house, I told my mum that she could sell the piano. She was shocked. Well, she was upset as well that I said it like ‘I’m sleepy.’ or ‘I’m hungry.’ kind of tone. She asked me numerous times if I really meant it. She threatened(!) me and enticed me to change my mind but I was never affected. She sold it and still talks about it how cold I sounded at that time. That was over 20 years ago and I’ve never thought about my piano nostalgically. There are many interesting episodes of my ‘decisiveness’ from my childhood, my mom remembers.

My flat is always clean and shiny. I’m not 100% sure what the measurements are. It’s probably about 7-80 square meters. It’s large enough for two. The previous owner had three children and needed many different rooms. We’ve made it a large one-bed room apartment when we got married.

When I get up in the morning, I dry mop the floor and wet wipe the target room. There are only 4 areas/rooms in my house. One bedroom, one bathroom, one rectangular area where kitchen and study at both ends, and another rectangular area which makes up living room plus dining room. To keep your house clean and bright, the size does matter. If my flat is larger than this I won’t be able to clean it the way I do right now. Also another equally important thing is the number of items you own in your place. Everything counts. How many plates do you have? How many pieces of furniture do you have? All in all, how much cluttur have you accumulated in your space?

For me, it only takes 15 minutes max or even less to tidy up my home every morning and it is truly enjoyable. Having a real santuary is so energising. A good thing is that it’s one of my personal requirements which I posted here.

Well you could get a cleaner to do it, but I know all the items I have in my house and they please me. Hence, it is my pleasure to return my TLC to them.

Since I’ve now established my decluttering method, I would like to share a few tips. This is my own way and works brilliantly for me. Before I start, I want to emphasise this principle first.

Ownership comes with a price tag. It’s called ‘maintenance’.
The more expensive, the higher the maintenance.

It didn’t really matter when I was still dependent because my parents took care of most of that part. However when I started earning a living, I began to realise whatever I owned, if I wanted it the way it initially came, I had to make an effort. Mind you, efforts come in different shapes and sizes. They can be money, time, physical caring, or a combination of any of the aforementioned, and so on.

(To be continued)

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Declutter! (1) : Simple life

  1. Mark on said:

    I want more!

Leave a Reply

